Price Cuppa Revisit – 3D

A while back I decided to redo my Pricey Cuppa illustration but made it from paper instead of using an actual cup and saucer. At the time I was really happy with the piece but felt compared to my latest work it looked a bit out of place so I decided to redo it one final time. This time I wanted to make the cup out of 3-dimensional paper rather than mount the paper onto a piece of paper and use shadows to cast the illustration of it being a 3D piece.
To give the cup a paper feel I decided to use sharp edges and give the cup a pentagon
shape, I felt this added a nice touch and stepped away from the realistic original. Using a printed out pentagon I used this as my guide to create the cups shape and placed a carefully cut piece of mount board at the bottom to make sure that it kept its shape when I started gluing it all together.

Photo 04-04-2017, 15 09 38

Once together I decided to cut individual strips of paper for each of the pentagon’s angles cut them too long on purpose so I could fold them over the edges which gave a nice smooth, slightly rounded edge to the lip of the cup.

Photo 04-04-2017, 16 29 10

I then worked on the handle of the cup which I decided to cut from foamboard first and then cover in paper so that it wasn’t too fiddly yet still gave the impression that it was made from paper alone. This worked perfectly and also gave the handle some strength rather than created the small handle out of paper. The handle was then carefully stuck onto the side of the cup making sure it was in the centre and that the top of the handle came to the same height as the top of the cup.

Photo 04-04-2017, 17 22 17 (1)

The contents of the mug was created using another pentagon piece of foamboard which was then covered in brown tea like card. To bring this pentagon to the top of the cup I just used a stack of cut foamboard which was stuck to the top of the foam board at the bottom of the cup and the bottom of tea coloured pentagon. The price tag was simply made from cut coloured card and I used string that was threaded through make it look like it was coming from a teabag inside the cup.

Using a larger pentagon I created the plate which was simply cut out foamboard once again covered in paper to give the effect that it was 3-dimensional paper.

I also decided to create 2 biscuits just to add to the final illustration. These were made from foamboard covered in coloured card and to add the biscuit texture I scored the bordering piece of paper and used a small needed to create the holes in the biscuits. I tried to make them look as realistic as possible and think it adds nicely to the cup and saucer.

biscuits.jpg

Below is the final illustration which I photographed and edited on Photoshop. I looked at already existing photos of cups of tea as well as playing around with different coloured paper to decide on the background to use. Although the blue background is quite bright I think it works to push the cup out and make it pop from the page. I believe this version is my strongest yet and would be the best option to use with the original article as its eye catching and the overall quality of the image is better.

Pricey Tea Finished 6

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

