Researching business cards

I want to make a business card that can be taken away at my final end of year show but I don’t want it to be just a stand rectangular business card. As I pride myself on being a quirky papercraft illustrator I want my business card to represent that and make me stand out from the crowd.

I’ve been researching into unique business cards online and have found so many inspirational ideas. There’s ones that are different shapes, ones that popup, some that fold, others that turn into a figure, even ones that are carved into and layered. I’ve been keeping track of all the ideas that inspire me by using Pinterest and made a secret folder where I can store all of the images that I find. I managed to total up 65 different unique business cards that I felt were really cool and would stand out from others.

business cards

The ones that really stood out to me and what I feel could work best for my business card were the ones that were carved out. There was one particular business card I found that I believe could work really well with the idea that I have. As I feel my brain illustration is the strongest piece of work I have I want that to be on my business card and I think that making a folded popup like the one below could make for a really cool and quirky business card that represents me well.

Wspin-Business-Card-l

The idea would show off my papercraft skills and would also show off my artwork and I could make it so that it folds onto a table almost like a name place holder that can be found on office desks. To put the idea to the test I made a very simple mock up of what the business card would look like when carved and folded and it works really well.

I did consider also making the business card a different size rather than having thefolded standard rectangle but what put me off was the fact that it might get lost in a wallet. By having a unique shape it cool to look at but once placed into a wallet with all the other business cards it would get lost behind the stand rectangles especially if another business card was placed in the same slot. I need to make sure that when my business card is in a wallet it stands out and doesn’t just blend in with the others that might already be in there.

I’m really happy with this idea and think it could really help me stand out from the crowd, it also does a great job is showcasing my papercraft skills. I’m more than likely going to have to score and cut out each business card myself although I could potentially use a laser cutting. I do think using a laser cutting could take away from the fact that all my work is handcrafted though and wouldn’t represent me as well as a personally handcrafted card. At the end of the day these will only be for my show although for now so putting in that extra effort would be worth it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

