Backgrounds

One of my main struggles when it comes to illustrating my ideas is what colour background to use. I find sometimes that my background can take away from the piece of work I’m trying to show but I also feel like having a plain white background can sometimes be boring and won’t work as well as a coloured background could. An example of this would be a piece I’m working on at the moment which is about space, I felt like a black background would look too dark when placed behind the planets so I chose to go with a white background and use small yellow stars to empathize the fact that the piece was set in space. Once I had completed most of the work I felt like the background didn’t really work as expected and unfortunately didn’t quite now what to try. Below is the mentioned unedited piece with the white background.

DSC_0004

Luckily I’ve gotten quite good at Photoshop over the last year and can change the background without too many problems but I’m still not sure what to change it too. I feel looking at other artists work as well as a colour wheel could help me to choose colours that not only work well together but help make my work stand out and fit well in the page.

I also believe that making quite sketches of my work using different colours could really help me find what colours would work best. I tend to get fixated on a certain idea and just run with it, it’s not too much of a problem because I can edit it afterwards but it would be a lot easier if I didn’t have to edit it so much at the end.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

