Making the trench

I’m going to make the trench to start generating ideas of what my objects could be, I don’t think I’ll be using the trench to help create the atmosphere of my story but I may change my mind at a later day.

I started to create my trench using cardboard and tape to create a simple empty rectangle. After adding a few pieces of card inside the box my trench started to come alive but it all seemed rather dark. To be able to control the lighting I decided to cut the back of the trench away and use tracing paper to cover it up instead so when the box was lifted up to the light it could shine through and highlight certain areas of the trench.

Overall I’m very happy with how my trench turned out and after placing my inanimate objects inside it’s given me a few ideas of what my objects could represent. Once again I don’t think I’ll be using the trench for my story because I feel it limits me slightly and coming out of the box gives me a lot more options. I have an idea of what my story could be about and I plan on starting work on it straight away.

Below is my finished trench with and without lighting.

Trench

Trench 2

Leave a Reply

